Laymen’s Department

“Godly Men answering the call to service and lifting our voice on behalf of the voiceless”

Isaiah 6:8, Luke 4:18-19, Acts 9: 5-6, 20


Deacon George L. Williams
President of Laymen’s Department



To work with, inspire, and challenge all Laymen nationally, regionally, state wide , and locally to fully support the objectives of the convention and to actively engage and participate in whatever capacity that God has purposed in the heart.


  • Evangelism
  • Socio and Civic concerns locally and nationally
  • Lay Leadership Training
  • Street Ministry
  • Adopt a school Program
  • Support and advocate for scholarships for young people desiring to further their education
  • Support National and International Missions Ministries
  • Advocate and support the Social Justice issues within the convention and on the local level
  • Jail and Prison visitation outreach 
  • Mentoring young boys

Contact Information

Mt. Zion Missionary Baptist Church
1047 Kenwood St.
Hammond, Indiana 46320
Rev. William R. Collins, Pastor-Teacher
E-mail: or
Phone:  312-835-2000 or 219-931-4337


2017 Officers

Deacon George L. Williams (IN)
Vice-President at Large

Deacon Wallace H. Turman (AL) 
First Vice President

Deacon Melvin L. Smith Jr. (DC) 
Second Vice President

Deacon Timothy L. Simpson (CA) 
Recording Secretary

Deacon Jimmy Harrington (SC) 
Assistant Recording Secretary

Bro. Roy Scott (MD)
Corresponding Secretary 

Deacon Clarence Robertson (NY)
Assistant Recording Secretary

Deacon Harvey Henley (AL)
Financial Secretary

Deacon Kenneth B. Curry (MI) 
Assistant Financial Secretary

Deacon Calvin Larts (DC)

Regional Vice Presidents at Large
Eastern      - Melvin L. Smith, Jr. (DC)
Midwest     - 
Southwest - Deacon Billy Wells (CA)
Southern   - Brother James Murrell (TN)


Deacon Benjamin F. Johnson (NC)
Deacon Leonard R. Sanders (DC)
Brother Roy Scott (MD)

Co-Chairs, Program
Deacon Melvin L. Smith Jr. (DC)
Deacon Jimmy Harrington (SC)

Social Justice
Deacon Maurice Williams (MD)

Prison Ministry
Deacon Leo Randall (DC)

Voter Registration
Brother Roy Scott (MD)

Deacon Melvin L. Smith Jr. (DC)

Deacon Percy Davis (DC)

Deacon George L. Williams (IN)

Christian Education 
Rev. Thurmond Caldwell (MO)
Deacon Michael A. Johnson (CA)

Regional Vice Presidents